Vibram FiveFingers

One of the first things I started working on in my conditioning classes was the the fact that I have flat feet. Apparently it was throwing off my balance, posture, and the cause of a small amount of foot pain in my left foot. I switched over to some really nice (expensive) inserts from REI at the recommendation of my conditioning coach. I have to admit, once I started getting used to them, they slowly started adjusting  my stance and oddly enough, my foot pain disappeared. Okay, consider me sold on the concept of fixing my flat feet.

During my daily persuing of the ever increasing number of blogs I stay up on, I caught Tim’s post on the Vibram FiveFinger shoes. Okay, I get it. An entire shoe (sort of) based on the concept of fixing all the things that modern shoes have broken. Not to mention they are way freaky looking which is sometimes a plus. While I’m not sure I’d wear them out to a nice restaurant or even a nightclub, for training or work or just tooling around the valley? Sign me up. What else could I do? So I grabbed some friends and headed to a local store to try a pair on. They’re actually pretty comfortable, especially given the fact that the ones I tried on were a size to small. So I ordered a pair from Vibram. I’ll throw up another post after I’ve worn them for a few days.

Leave a Reply

